Cricket – Tagged "#RunOutControversy" – InstaSport

Free shipping all over India

Cricket

India Suffers Shocking Defeat in Women's T20 World Cup Opener Amidst Run-Out Controversy

India Suffers Shocking Defeat in Women's T20 World Cup Opener Amidst Run-Out Controversy

India's Shocking Defeat in Women's T20 World Cup Opener Marred by Controversial Run-Out CallIndia's hopes of a successful Women's T20 World Cup 2024 campaign suffered a major setback as they succumbed to a disappointing 58-run defeat against New Zealand in their opening match in Dubai. The Blackcaps, led by skipper Sophie Devine's unbeaten 57, posted a challenging total of 160/4. However, India's batting lineup faltered, with Rosemary Mair's four-wicket haul contributing to their eventual dismissal for just 102.The match was marred by a controversial incident in the 14th over. Kiwi batter Amelia Kerr was initially declared not out on a run-out appeal, despite being run out before completing the double. The umpires ruled that the ball was dead, leading to an animated reaction from India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur.Former India head coach Sanjay Bangar defended Harmanpreet's reaction, stating that she was justified in standing up for her team on a debatable issue. Indian leg-spinner Poonam Yadav also backed Harmanpreet, calling her a supportive captain whose scolding never affects the dressing room environment.Despite the loss, India will look to bounce back against arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday in Dubai. The match will be telecasted live on Star Sports from 3:00 PM onwards.

Read more

Harmanpreet Kaur Fumes Over Controversial Run-Out Denial in T20 World Cup

Harmanpreet Kaur Fumes Over Controversial Run-Out Denial in T20 World Cup

India's Harmanpreet Kaur Left Fuming After Controversial Run-Out Denial in T20 World Cup MatchDuring the highly anticipated India vs New Zealand Women's T20 World Cup match in Dubai on Friday, a controversial incident sparked a dramatic scene on the field. India's captain, Harmanpreet Kaur, was left visibly frustrated after her team was denied a crucial run-out.The incident occurred during the final delivery of the 14th over. New Zealand's Amelia Kerr attempted a second run after completing the first, but Harmanpreet, positioned at long-off, had the ball in her hands and was looking for an over change.Despite the umpire signaling the end of the over by handing Deepti Sharma her cap, Devine decided to go for a second run. Harmanpreet quickly assessed the situation and launched a bullet throw to the keeper's end, where Richa Ghosh swiftly removed the bails, catching Kerr well short of the crease.However, to the dismay of the Indian players, Kerr was recalled after the umpires ruled the ball dead, despite Harmanpreet's visible frustration. Animated discussions followed between coach Amol Muzumdar and the fourth umpire, as play remained suspended for a few minutes. Harmanpreet even appeared ready to join the debate, but the fourth umpire eventually instructed them to resume the match, leaving the Indians visibly unconvinced by the explanation.The decision sparked controversy on social media, with many fans and experts questioning the umpires' ruling. Star India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin also reacted to the development, sharing the clip of the event on his Twitter handle and questioning whose fault it was.The incident highlights the importance of clear communication and coordination between umpires and players on the field. It also raises questions about the interpretation of the rules regarding the end of an over and the subsequent actions of the players.

Read more

Controversial Run-Out Decision Divides Opinion in IPL Eliminator

Controversial Run-Out Decision Divides Opinion in IPL Eliminator

In the high-stakes Eliminator match of IPL 2024, a controversial dismissal sparked debate among cricket experts and fans alike. After the contentious lbw call against Dinesh Karthik, another incident involving Cameron Green and Dhruv Jurel raised questions about the interpretation of the run-out rule.Green, fielding at deep mid-wicket, collected a throw from Virat Kohli and attempted to run out Jurel. However, replays showed that Green may not have had complete control of the ball when he broke the stumps. The TV umpire, Anil Chaudhary, ruled Jurel out, citing Law 29.2.1.5, which states that a run out occurs if "the ball is held in the hand or hands so used [to break the stumps], or in the hand of the arm so used."The decision divided opinion. Some experts, like Mitchell McClenaghan, argued that Green did not have control of the ball and that Jurel should have been given the benefit of the doubt. Others, like Varun Aaron, believed that Green had sufficient control to justify the dismissal.The law itself states that the ball must be "held" in the hand or arm used to break the stumps. However, the visuals did not conclusively show whether Green had complete possession of the ball. This ambiguity led to the debate over whether the dismissal was justified.Tom Moody, another expert, pointed out that the key word in the law is "held." He argued that Green did not have control of the ball when the stumps were broken and that Jurel should not have been given out.Ultimately, the decision did not affect the outcome of the match. Rajasthan Royals went on to defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore with one over to spare, thanks to contributions from Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, and Rovman Powell. However, the controversy surrounding Green's dismissal highlighted the need for clarity in the interpretation of the run-out rule.

Read more

Oman D10 Run-Out Controversy: 'Fake Fielding' Debate Erupts

Oman D10 Run-Out Controversy: 'Fake Fielding' Debate Erupts

Oman D10 Run-Out Sparks Debate on 'Fake Fielding'A controversial dismissal in the Oman D10 competition has ignited a heated debate among cricket fans over the interpretation of run-out laws. During a match between Ghubrah Giants and Ruwi Rangers, Barathwaj Vinayagam was run out by a direct hit from Aflal Kariapper. However, some fans on social media have questioned the legitimacy of the dismissal, alleging "fake fielding."According to Law 41.5.1 of the cricket rules, "it is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball." In this case, Kariapper collected the ball and executed a no-look throw to dismiss Vinayagam. While some argue that the throw was a legitimate attempt to run out the batter, others contend that it was an intentional deception designed to distract Vinayagam.The umpires deemed the dismissal valid, and Ruwi Rangers went on to defeat Ghubrah Giants by 57 runs. However, the incident has sparked a wider discussion about the boundaries of fair play in cricket. Some fans believe that the no-look throw was a clear violation of the rules, while others argue that it was a clever and legitimate tactic.The debate has also raised questions about the role of technology in officiating cricket matches. While the use of video replays has become commonplace in other sports, cricket has been slower to adopt such measures. Some argue that the introduction of video replays could help to eliminate controversial dismissals like the one in the Oman D10 match.

Read more

Sarfaraz Khan's Run Out Controversy: AB de Villiers Weighs In

Sarfaraz Khan's Run Out Controversy: AB de Villiers Weighs In

In the third Test match between India and England, a mix-up between Sarfaraz Khan and Ravindra Jadeja resulted in a controversial run out, sparking discussions among cricket enthusiasts. Sarfaraz Khan, making his Test debut, was playing an impressive innings, reaching a 48-ball half-century, the joint fastest by an Indian debutant in the post-independence era. However, just as he seemed poised for a substantial score, the unfortunate mix-up led to his dismissal.Former South African cricketer AB de Villiers weighed in on the incident, expressing his disappointment in Jadeja's role in the run out. De Villiers noted that Jadeja's body language and subdued celebration after reaching his century reflected his remorse for the error. He commended Jadeja's maturity in taking responsibility and showing empathy for the young batsman.Sarfaraz Khan, in his post-match conference, acknowledged that miscommunication can occur in the game and that run outs are part of the sport. He expressed gratitude for Jadeja's support throughout his innings, particularly during their conversation at lunchtime. Jadeja's guidance helped Sarfaraz overcome his initial nervousness and settle into a comfortable rhythm.Regarding the run out, Sarfaraz revealed that Jadeja had apologized for the miscommunication, and he assured him that it was alright. The incident highlights the challenges and pressures faced by debutants in international cricket, and the importance of experienced players providing support and guidance to help them navigate these moments.

Read more