BCCI Announces Central Contracts: Kishan and Iyer Dropped, New Additions Made

BCCI Announces Central Contracts: Kishan and Iyer Dropped, New Additions Made

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released its annual player retainership list for the 2023-24 season, with notable exclusions and additions.


Out-of-favor duo Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer have been dropped from the list. The BCCI cited their absence from Ranji Trophy matches as a reason for their exclusion. Both players were previously in Grade B and C, respectively, and will now lose access to NCA facilities and BCCI insurance.

Notable Gainers:

KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, and Mohammed Siraj have been promoted to Grade A, earning Rs 5 crore annually. Kuldeep Yadav has moved up to Grade B, earning Rs 3 crore.

New Additions:

The BCCI has added 11 new players to the central contracts list, including Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Rajat Patidar. These players will earn Rs 1 crore each.

Fast Bowling Contracts:

In a historic move, the BCCI has recommended five players for fast bowling contracts: Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa.

Retained Players:

India captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, and Jasprit Bumrah have been retained in the Grade A+ bracket, earning Rs 7 crore each.


The exclusion of Kishan and Iyer has sparked discussions, while the promotions and additions have been welcomed. The new central contracts will provide financial support and access to resources for the selected players.

Tags: #BCCI, #CentralContracts, #IshanKishan, #ShreyasIyer, #KL

Read more