Fortune Barishal Crowned BPL Champions with Six-Wicket Triumph

Fortune Barishal Crowned BPL Champions with Six-Wicket Triumph

Fortune Barishal emerged victorious in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2023, claiming their maiden title with a resounding six-wicket triumph over Comilla Victorians. The match, played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, witnessed a dominant performance from Barishal's bowlers and a clinical chase led by captain Tamim Iqbal and Kyle Mayers.

Comilla, the four-time BPL champions, were restricted to a modest 154 for 6 after winning the toss and electing to bat. James Fuller played a pivotal role with the ball, claiming two crucial wickets in the powerplay. Taijul Islam and Obed McCoy also impressed with their economical spells, keeping the Comilla batters in check.

In reply, Barishal's openers, Tamim and Mehidy Hasan Miraz, provided a solid foundation with a 76-run partnership. Tamim, in particular, entertained the crowd with his aggressive strokeplay, becoming the tournament's highest scorer in the process.

Kyle Mayers took over the mantle after Tamim's departure, striking five fours and two sixes to guide Barishal closer to victory. Andre Russell's late cameo of 27 runs off 14 balls proved futile as Barishal reached their target with ease in the 19th over.

Comilla's fielding errors in the latter stages of the chase proved costly, allowing Barishal to capitalize on their opportunities. Mahmudullah and David Miller sealed the victory for Barishal, ensuring their first-ever BPL title.

Tags: #BPL2023, #FortuneBarishal, #ComillaVictorians, #TamimIqbal, #KyleMayers

Read more