Hyderabad Clinches Ranji Trophy Plate Group Title with Five-Wicket Victory

Hyderabad Clinches Ranji Trophy Plate Group Title with Five-Wicket Victory

The Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad witnessed a historic moment as the home team, Hyderabad, clinched a thrilling five-wicket victory over Meghalaya in the final of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group on Tuesday. The triumph marked a remarkable end to a season filled with consistent performances and unwavering determination by the Hyderabad cricketers.

Resuming the fourth day at 71 for one, Hyderabad needed 198 runs to secure victory. G. Rahul Singh, known for his aggressive batting, played a pivotal role in the chase, scoring a quickfire 62 runs off just 40 deliveries, including eight boundaries and two sixes. However, his dismissal in the 12th over of the morning brought captain Tilak Varma and Rohit Rayudu to the crease.

The duo forged a crucial 82-run partnership, dashing Meghalaya's hopes of a comeback. Varma, in particular, looked set for another century this season but was unfortunately caught in the slips off a leading edge, just seven runs short of the milestone. Rayudu, too, departed soon after, giving a leading edge to a delivery from left-arm spinner Aryan Bora.

Despite these setbacks, Hyderabad remained focused on the task at hand. K. Nitesh Reddy and Chandan Sahani steadied the innings, guiding the team to victory with an unbroken partnership of 12 runs. Sahani sealed the deal with a six over mid-on, sparking jubilation among the Hyderabad camp.

The victory was a testament to the team's resilience and fighting spirit throughout the season. Hyderabad President A. Jagan Mohan Rao, along with officials from the Meghalaya Cricket Association, presented the prizes to the winning team. Rao announced a cash incentive of ₹10 lakh for the Hyderabad team and individual rewards for outstanding performances.

Tags: #RanjiTrophy, #PlateGroupFinal, #Hyderabad, #Meghalaya, #Cricket

Read more