India Women's Cricket Team Announces Squad for Bangladesh T20I Series

India Women's Cricket Team Announces Squad for Bangladesh T20I Series

India's women's cricket team has announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Bangladesh, scheduled to commence on April 28. The squad features two notable inclusions in S Sajana and S Asha, who have earned their maiden India call-ups.

Sajana, a hard-hitting batter, emerged as one of Mumbai's breakout stars in the recently concluded Women's Premier League (WPL). Her ability to accelerate the innings in the latter stages was instrumental in Mumbai's success. Asha, on the other hand, became the first Indian to claim a five-wicket haul in the WPL. She finished as the second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament, showcasing her impressive bowling skills.

The squad also includes the return of experienced all-rounder D Hemalatha and left-arm spinner Radha Yadav. Hemalatha last played a T20I in September 2022, while Yadav's last appearance came at the T20 World Cup in South Africa last year.

The composition of the squad aligns with captain Harmanpreet Kaur's stated goal of providing opportunities to top performers ahead of the T20 World Cup, scheduled for September-October in Bangladesh.

Jemimah Rodrigues, a key member of the Indian team, will miss the Bangladesh tour due to a back niggle. She is currently undergoing treatment at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. The decision to rest Rodrigues is precautionary, considering the upcoming T20 World Cup.

The squad is predominantly spin-heavy, reflecting the expected conditions in Bangladesh. Deepti Sharma will lead the spin attack, supported by Shreyanka Patil, Saika Ishaque, Asha, and Radha Yadav. Renuka Singh Thakur and Titas Sadhu are the two frontline pacers, with Pooja Vastrakar and Amanjot Kaur providing seam-bowling options.

Richa Ghosh is expected to be the first-choice wicketkeeper, while Yastika Bhatia, who has impressed as a pure batter, is likely to serve as a backup.

India will be aiming to continue their dominance over Bangladesh in T20Is. In their previous encounter in July 2022, India won the series 2-1.

Tags: #WomensCricket, #IndiaCricket, #BangladeshCricket, #T20I, #SajanSajeevan

Read more