Indian Women's Cricket Team Wins 'Sports Performance of the Year' Award

Indian Women's Cricket Team Wins 'Sports Performance of the Year' Award

The Indian women's cricket team celebrated a historic triumph at the NDTV Indian of the Year 2024 awards ceremony, receiving the prestigious "Sports Performance of the Year" award. The team's remarkable achievements have propelled women's cricket in India to new heights.

Shreyanka Patil, Shafali Verma, Sneh Rana, and Radha Yadav represented the team at the ceremony, where they were honored by tennis legend Sania Mirza. Shreyanka expressed her gratitude for the recognition and highlighted the transformative journey of women's cricket in India.

"Women's cricket has undergone a profound change in recent years," Shreyanka said. "We are now receiving financial support and opportunities that were once unimaginable. The BCCI deserves immense credit for their unwavering commitment to our growth."

Shreyanka's words resonated with the team's recent success in the Women's Premier League (WPL). As a member of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) side, she played a pivotal role in their historic title victory.

"Winning the WPL title was a dream come true," Shreyanka said. "It was the first time an RCB team had won a championship, and we are incredibly proud of our accomplishment."

Shreyanka also extended her support to the RCB men's team, who are currently competing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. "We have been eagerly waiting for the men's team to lift the IPL trophy," she said. "We know they are working hard and determined to bring it home. We wish them all the best."

The Indian women's cricket team's success is a testament to their talent, dedication, and the growing support for women's sports in India. Their achievements have inspired a new generation of young girls to pursue their dreams on the cricket field.

Tags: #IndianWomensCricket, #NDTVIndianOfTheYear, #SportsPerformance, #WomensCricket, #ShreyankaPatil

Read more