Nortje Returns as South Africa Names T20 World Cup Squad

Nortje Returns as South Africa Names T20 World Cup Squad

South Africa has unveiled its 15-man squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup, marking the long-awaited return of pace spearhead Anrich Nortje after a nine-month absence. Nortje, who has been impressing in the Indian Premier League (IPL), will bolster a bowling attack that also includes Kagiso Rabada, Gerald Coetzee, and Ottniel Baartman.

Baartman, a standout performer in the inaugural SA20, has earned his maiden T20I call-up along with opening batter Ryan Rickelton. Rickelton, the leading run-scorer in the SA20, is expected to partner Quinton de Kock at the top of the order.

The squad features a strong middle order of Aiden Markram (captain), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, and Tristan Stubbs. Left-arm spinners Keshav Maharaj and Bjorn Fortuin, along with wristspinner Tabraiz Shamsi, provide the spin options.

Allrounder Marco Jansen is the lone allrounder in the squad, with Andile Phehlukwayo and Wiaan Mulder missing out. Faf du Plessis, who was expected to make an international comeback, has been overlooked, while Rassie van der Dussen and Matthew Breetzke have also been left out.

Van der Dussen and Breetzke will, however, join a second-string South African side for a three-match T20I series against West Indies ahead of the World Cup. That squad also includes uncapped legspinner Nqaba Peter.

The T20 World Cup is likely to be de Kock's final international appearance after he retired from ODI cricket last year. South Africa will be hoping to make a strong impact in the tournament, having reached the semi-finals in the previous edition.

Tags: #AnrichNortje, #T20WorldCup, #SouthAfricaCricket, #OttnielBaartman, #RyanRickelton

Read more