Cricket – Tagged "#UmpiringControversy" – InstaSport

Free shipping all over India

Cricket

Australia A Triumph in Mackay Despite Ball-Change Controversy

Australia A Triumph in Mackay Despite Ball-Change Controversy

Australia A emerged victorious in the four-day match against India A in Mackay, despite a controversial ball-change incident that marred the start of the final day.India A were left fuming after umpire Shawn Craig announced that the ball had been replaced due to scratches, a decision that wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan labeled as "stupid." Craig explained that the ball had been changed to prevent further damage, but Kishan's dissent earned him a report for inappropriate behavior.Despite the controversy, Australia A resumed their chase with Nathan McSweeney and Beau Webster at the crease. McSweeney, who is vying for a spot in Australia's Test squad, played a composed innings, finishing unbeaten on 88. Webster provided solid support, scoring 61 not out as the pair put on an unbroken 141-run partnership for the fourth wicket.India A's bowlers struggled to make inroads on the final morning, with Sai Sudharsan's six overs of spin proving particularly ineffective. The match ended with Australia A securing a comfortable victory, having bowled out India A for 107 and 312 in their two innings.The ball-change incident has raised questions about the umpiring decisions in the match. According to Law 41.3.4, umpires are required to award five penalty runs to the opposing side if they believe the ball has been unfairly changed. However, no such penalty was imposed in this case.Cricket Australia has been contacted for comment on the incident, which has added an unexpected layer of drama to the closing stages of the match.

Read more

Kohli's Muted Reaction Raises Questions in India vs New Zealand Test

Kohli's Muted Reaction Raises Questions in India vs New Zealand Test

Virat Kohli, the fiery Indian batter, displayed an uncharacteristic restraint during the first Test against New Zealand. Known for his passionate and aggressive on-field demeanor, Kohli's muted reaction to a controversial dismissal raised eyebrows.In the 89th over of New Zealand's innings, Rachin Ravindra was given out caught behind off Mohammed Siraj's bowling. The entire Indian team erupted in celebration, including umpire Michael Gough. However, replays revealed that the ball had not touched Ravindra's bat, but rather a separate noise had occurred.Commentators Harsha Bhogle and Ian Smith noticed that Kohli, positioned at first slip, remained unmoved throughout the proceedings. Replays confirmed that Kohli had indeed not celebrated, despite the initial jubilation from his teammates.Bhogle remarked that Kohli, known for his expressive nature, was at the top of the list of "most expressive people in the world." He suggested that Kohli's muted reaction may have hinted at his belief that the dismissal was not legitimate.Kohli's restraint stood in stark contrast to his usual on-field persona. As India's former captain, he had earned a reputation for wearing his heart on his sleeve and approaching every game with an aggressive, but fair, demeanor.The incident highlights the complexities of the game of cricket and the importance of fair play. While the Indian team initially celebrated the dismissal, Kohli's muted reaction served as a reminder that the spirit of the game should always prevail.Despite India's strong batting performance on Day 3, they suffered a setback when Kohli was dismissed caught behind on the final ball of the day. India ended the day on 231/3, still trailing New Zealand by a significant margin of 125 runs.

Read more

South Africa Edge Nepal by One Run in Thrilling T20 World Cup Encounter

South Africa Edge Nepal by One Run in Thrilling T20 World Cup Encounter

In a thrilling encounter at the ICC T20 World Cup, South Africa narrowly defeated Nepal by one run in a nail-biting finish. Heinrich Klassen's decisive run-out on the final delivery secured the victory for the Proteas, dashing Nepal's hopes of advancing to the Super Eight stage.Nepal's spinners had dominated the South African innings, restricting them to a modest 115/7. Reeza Hendricks anchored the Proteas' batting with 43 runs, while Tristan Stubbs contributed an unbeaten 27 off 18 balls. Kushal Bhurtel and Dipendra Singh Airee shared seven wickets for Nepal.In response, Nepal's top-order batsmen looked comfortable in their chase, reaching 85/2 by the 14th over. However, South African spinner Tabraiz Shamsi turned the tide with a brilliant spell, taking 4/19 to put immense pressure on the Nepali chase.Fast bowlers Anrich Nortje and Ottneil Baartman held their nerve in the final two overs, leaving Nepal needing eight runs from the last over. Gulsan Jha struck a boundary off the third ball, bringing the equation down to two runs from the last ball.In a dramatic twist, Klassen's quick reflexes and sharp throw caught Jha short of the crease, sealing a memorable win for South Africa. The victory broke Nepalese hearts and ended their hopes of advancing in the tournament.However, fans on social media raised concerns about a potential umpiring error. They argued that the last ball should have been called a wide, as it was over the batsman's head. Screenshots shared on social media supported their claims.Despite the controversy, South Africa's victory was a testament to their resilience and determination. They will now face the United States in the Super Eight stage on Wednesday, June 19.

Read more

Controversy Erupts in IPL as Umpiring Blunder Overshadows Delhi Capitals' Victory

Controversy Erupts in IPL as Umpiring Blunder Overshadows Delhi Capitals' Victory

Delhi Capitals' Controversial Win Over Rajasthan Royals: Umpiring Blunder or Justified Decision?In a thrilling IPL 2024 encounter at the Arun Jaitely Stadium, Delhi Capitals emerged victorious over Rajasthan Royals by a margin of 20 runs. However, the match was marred by a controversial dismissal that sparked heated debates and raised questions about the accuracy of umpiring decisions.Chasing a formidable target of 222, Rajasthan Royals skipper Sanju Samson was dismissed in the 16th over after a catch by Shai Hope at long-on. Replays of the incident showed that Hope came perilously close to the boundary line while completing the catch, leading to speculation that he may have touched the rope with the ball in his hand.The third umpire, Michael Gough, ruled in favor of Delhi Capitals, declaring Samson out for 86. This decision ignited a heated argument between Samson and the on-field umpires, with the RR skipper expressing his dissatisfaction.Former England batter Paul Collingwood weighed in on the controversy, suggesting that Gough should have consulted additional camera angles before making his decision. "Maybe he could have given himself another angle, just to double-check. Because it was so, so close," Collingwood said.Collingwood also acknowledged the pressure on umpires to expedite decisions in the IPL, but emphasized the importance of accuracy in such crucial moments. "I think, on this occasion, a couple of more angles, just to clarify could have put everybody at ease. That might have been the best way to go," he added.The incident also resulted in a fine of 30% of his match fee for Samson for breaching the IPL Code of Conduct. The IPL statement stated that Samson committed a Level 1 offense under Article 2.8 of the Code of Conduct, which he admitted to and accepted the Match Referee's sanction.The controversy surrounding Samson's dismissal has reignited discussions about the role of technology in umpiring decisions and the need for greater accuracy in close calls. As the IPL continues to attract global attention, the pressure on umpires to make split-second decisions will only intensify, making it imperative to find ways to ensure fairness and consistency in the adjudication process.

Read more

Sanju Samson's Controversial Dismissal Rocks Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals Clash

Sanju Samson's Controversial Dismissal Rocks Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals Clash

Sanju Samson's Controversial Dismissal Sparks Outrage in Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals ClashThe Indian Premier League (IPL) match between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) on Tuesday witnessed a dramatic turn of events when Sanju Samson was controversially adjudged out at a crucial juncture. The decision, which ultimately cost RR the match, has sparked widespread outrage and raised questions about umpiring standards in the tournament.The incident occurred in the 16th over of RR's chase when Samson smashed a Mukesh Kumar delivery to long-on. DC's Shai Hope claimed the catch at the boundary, but replays indicated that his foot may have touched the boundary cushion. Despite this, the third umpire ruled the catch clean, leaving Samson bewildered and frustrated.Samson, who was batting superbly on 86, protested the decision vehemently before eventually walking off the field in disappointment. The Royals' dugout was left stunned, while DC co-owner Parth Jindal was seen celebrating animatedly in the stands.Samson's dismissal proved to be a turning point in the match, as RR lost momentum and eventually fell short of the target. The decision has drawn widespread criticism from fans, pundits, and former players alike, who have questioned the accuracy of the third umpire's call.Throughout the IPL season, there have been numerous instances of questionable umpiring decisions, including incorrect wide calls, waist-high full-tosses being ruled as legal, and controversial run-outs. These incidents have raised concerns about the quality of umpiring in the tournament and have led to calls for improved standards.The Sanju Samson dismissal has once again highlighted the need for greater accuracy and consistency in umpiring. The IPL is one of the most prestigious cricket tournaments in the world, and it is essential that the umpires are held to the highest standards to ensure fair play and the integrity of the game.

Read more

Kohli's Controversial Dismissal Sparks Umpiring Debate in IPL 2024

Kohli's Controversial Dismissal Sparks Umpiring Debate in IPL 2024

Virat Kohli's Controversial Dismissal Sparks Umpiring Debate in IPL 2024Since Sunday's match between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), the dismissal of Virat Kohli has become a major talking point in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Kohli was caught and bowled by Harshit Rana, but the legality of the delivery has been questioned.Kohli was convinced that the full toss was a no-ball, as it appeared to be above his waist height. The former RCB captain expressed his frustration by shouting at the umpire, which resulted in a 50% match fee fine.Replays showed that the ball was dipping, and if Kohli had been standing at his normal batting position, it would have ended up below his waist. However, Kohli was standing outside his crease, which led to the dismissal.The incident has sparked a debate about umpiring standards in the IPL. Former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif took to Instagram to criticize the umpiring, stating that "clear unplayable beamer gets Kohli out and a ball that passed under Dhoni's bat declared wide." Kohli himself liked Kaif's post.The IPL has released a statement regarding Kohli's punishment, stating that he breached the IPL Code of Conduct by showing dissent. Kohli admitted to the offense and accepted the Match Referee's sanction.The incident has highlighted the importance of accurate umpiring in cricket. With the use of technology, such as the Decision Review System (DRS), there is less room for error. However, the human element remains, and mistakes can still occur.The debate over Kohli's dismissal is likely to continue, as fans and experts alike question the decision-making of the umpires. It is crucial for the IPL to ensure that umpiring standards are maintained at the highest level to preserve the integrity of the competition.

Read more

Umpiring Controversies Mar RCB's Narrow Defeat to KKR

Umpiring Controversies Mar RCB's Narrow Defeat to KKR

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) suffered a heartbreaking one-run defeat to the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at Eden Gardens on Sunday, but the match was marred by two controversial umpiring decisions that have sparked outrage among fans and experts alike.The first incident occurred in the 13th over when Virat Kohli was given out caught behind off the bowling of Umesh Yadav. Replays showed that the ball appeared to be above waist height, but the on-field umpires upheld the decision. The broadcaster's Hawk-Eye technology also confirmed that the ball was indeed above waist height, but the third umpire was not consulted.The second controversy arose in the 17th over when Suyash Prabhudesai smashed a shot towards the fine-leg boundary. The umpires initially signaled four runs, but fans and commentators alike felt that the ball had crossed the boundary rope. A zoomed-in video of the incident later emerged, seemingly confirming that the ball had indeed gone for a six.However, the on-field umpires did not consult the third umpire and the decision stood as a four. This decision proved costly for RCB, as they eventually lost the match by a narrow margin of one run.Fans and experts have taken to social media to express their outrage over the umpiring decisions. Many have questioned why the third umpire was not consulted in both instances, especially given the close nature of the calls.The match officials and the IPL management have yet to comment on the matter, but the controversy is likely to continue for some time. The incidents have raised questions about the accuracy and consistency of umpiring in the IPL, and have highlighted the need for a more robust review system.

Read more

Umpiring Blunder Mars Under-23 Col CK Nayudu Trophy Final

Umpiring Blunder Mars Under-23 Col CK Nayudu Trophy Final

Umpiring Blunder Sparks Controversy in Under-23 Col CK Nayudu Trophy FinalA major controversy has erupted during the Under-23 Col CK Nayudu Trophy final between Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh, casting a shadow over the prestigious tournament. The incident in question occurred during the morning session of Day 1, when Karnataka opener Prakhar Chaturvedi was controversially given out caught-behind by the on-field umpire.Replays clearly showed that wicketkeeper Aaradhya Yadav had grassed the ball, but the umpire raised his finger, leaving Chaturvedi and the Karnataka team in disbelief. The incident has sparked outrage on social media, with fans questioning the "level of umpiring" in the domestic circuit.One fan took to Twitter to highlight the bizarre incident, urging the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to investigate and penalize the umpire. The tweet quickly gained traction, with many users expressing their anger and frustration."Level of Umpiring in our Domestic circuit. @JayShah @BCCIdomestic," the fan wrote, accompanied by a video of the incident.Some users even called for a ban on wicketkeeper Yadav for cheating."The keeper should be banned for two years from playing cricket," one user tweeted.The controversy has also raised concerns about the quality of umpiring in Indian domestic cricket. Commentators and experts have expressed their disappointment over the incident, calling for stricter measures to ensure fair play and accurate decision-making.Meanwhile, the Ranji Trophy final between Mumbai and Vidarbha is also underway at the Wankhede Stadium. Mumbai set a target of 538 for Vidarbha after posting a mammoth 418 in their first innings, thanks to a century by Musheer Khan. At Tea on Day 4, Vidarbha were 155/4, with Karun Nair and captain Akshay Wadkar at the crease.The umpiring controversy in the Under-23 Col CK Nayudu Trophy final has cast a negative light on the tournament and raised serious questions about the standards of umpiring in Indian domestic cricket. The BCCI is expected to investigate the incident and take appropriate action to ensure that such controversies do not occur in the future.

Read more

Sri Lanka Outraged by Controversial Umpiring Decision in Bangladesh T20I

Sri Lanka Outraged by Controversial Umpiring Decision in Bangladesh T20I

Sri Lanka's frustration boiled over in the second T20I against Bangladesh after a controversial decision by third umpire Masudur Rahman overturned an on-field call.In the fourth over of Bangladesh's chase, opener Soumya Sarkar was adjudged out by umpire Sharfuddoula for edging a short delivery from Binura Fernando behind. Sarkar immediately reviewed the decision, but began walking off the field when the big screen displayed a clear spike on Ultra-edge.However, Rahman ruled that the spike was not caused by bat on ball, claiming there was a "clear gap" between the bat and the ball when the spike appeared. While there was a slight misalignment, it is customary in such situations to give the batter out, attributing the discrepancy to calibration differences in the technology.The lack of an alternative source for the spike further perplexed the Sri Lankan team. When Rahman communicated the overturned decision to the on-field umpire, Sri Lanka's players erupted in protest, surrounding Sharfuddoula and questioning the call. Coach Chris Silverwood also approached the fourth official to express his concerns.Sarkar, who was on 14 at the time, eventually fell for 26 in the seventh over. The controversial decision left a sour taste in the Sri Lankan camp, who felt they had been unfairly denied a wicket.The incident highlights the ongoing debate surrounding the use of technology in cricket. While Ultra-edge has been instrumental in reducing umpiring errors, it can also lead to contentious decisions when the evidence is inconclusive. In this case, the misalignment between the ball and the spike on Ultra-edge left room for interpretation, ultimately resulting in a decision that favored the batter.

Read more