NSW Bolsters Squad with World Cup Trio and Experienced Recruits

NSW Bolsters Squad with World Cup Trio and Experienced Recruits

New South Wales (NSW) has bolstered its squad for the 2024-25 season with the addition of three promising youngsters from the Under-19 World Cup-winning team: Sam Konstas, Ryan Hicks, and Charlie Anderson. These talented players join experienced recruits Nic Maddinson and Josh Philippe, who bring a wealth of knowledge and skill to the team.

Konstas, a 19-year-old batter, made an impressive debut for NSW last season, scoring a century in the Under-19 World Cup and a half-century in the Shield. He has earned a full contract, while Hicks and Anderson have been awarded rookie deals.

Hicks, a wicketkeeper-batter, showcased his potential with a century in an Under-19 Youth Test against England. He will develop behind established keepers Philippe and Matthew Gilkes. Anderson, a bowler, impressed at the Under-19 World Cup and takes Jack Nisbet's rookie spot. Nisbet has been upgraded to a full contract after a successful debut Shield season.

NSW chief of cricket performance Greg Mail expressed his delight at adding the trio to the squad. "Sam and Jack confirmed their talent last season and deserve their full contracts," he said. "Ryan and Charlie have also shown their readiness for professional opportunities."

The addition of Maddinson and Philippe further strengthens NSW's squad. Maddinson, a former NSW captain, returns after six seasons with Victoria, while Philippe brings his experience from Western Australia.

"Players of their caliber don't become available often," said Mail. "They will enhance our balance and depth."

Jason Sangha and Baxter Holt have departed the squad, with Sangha likely to join South Australia and Holt heading to Western Australia. Kurtis Patterson remains on the list despite exploring options elsewhere.

The NSW squad for 2024-25 includes:

* Sean Abbott (CA contract)

* Charlie Anderson (rookie)

* Jackson Bird

* Pat Cummins (CA)

* Joel Davies (rookie)

* Oliver Davies

* Ben Dwarshuis

* Jack Edwards

* Matt Gilkes

* Chris Green

* Ryan Hackney

* Ryan Hadley

* Liam Hatcher

* Josh Hazlewood (CA)

* Moises Henriques

* Ryan Hicks (rookie)

* Daniel Hughes

* Hayden Kerr

* Sam Konstas

* Nathan Lyon (CA)

* Nic Maddinson

* Blake Nikitaras

* Jack Nisbet

* Kurtis Patterson

* Josh Philippe

* Will Salzmann (rookie)

* Tanveer Sangha

* Lachlan Shaw (rookie)

* Steve Smith (CA)

* Mitchell Starc (CA)

* Chris Tremain

* Adam Zampa (CA)

Tags: #Cricket, #NewSouthWales, #Under19WorldCup, #SamKonstas, #RyanHicks

Read more